International Ergonomics Association (IEA) K.U. Smith Student Award

  • Post by:
  • July 23, 2020
  • Comments off

The IEA K.U. Smith Student Award honors deserving students responsible for contributions to human factors/ergonomics (HF/E). Awards will be presented during the IEA 2021 Triennial Congress in Vancouver, Canada.

The Award winners each will receive a cash award of US $3,000. A travel stipend also may be awarded.   Any student enrolled in an accredited post-secondary institution worldwide is eligible.

A student wishing to apply for the award should submit the following documents via email (see contact information below): (1) A full copy of a paper that the student has authored, which documents an HF/E contribution. The student should be first author on a coauthored paper. (2) A resume (4 pages limit, student name, address, e-mail, phone, institution, experience, publications, HF/E accomplishments/contributions). (3) A letter from the student’s academic adviser on institutional letterhead certifying: (1) the paper was written by the student; (2) the student was primarily responsible for the work described in the paper; (3) the student was enrolled in the academic program when this work was carried out; (4) the period of time over which the work was carried out; (5) the work described was completed after August 2019; and (6) the paper is being submitted for the IEA Student Award.

Awardees will be selected using four criteria: 1. HF/E scientific and technical merit 2. Relevance to design issues 3. Practical relevance 4. Originality and innovative content. Deadlines for the IEA KU Smith Student Award are as follows: September 30, 2020 Papers, resumes and advisor letters received by the IEA Student Award Committee. December 15, 2020 Applicants and winners informed of results. February 5, 2021 Full papers by the winners due to IEA 2021 Congress Program Committee (visit for details).

Submissions/questions should be sent to IEA Student Award Committee Chair: Professor Pascale Carayon Leon and Elizabeth Janssen Professor in the College of Engineering Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering Director of the Wisconsin Institute for Healthcare Systems Engineering University of Wisconsin-Madison – USA Phone: +1-608-265-0503 Email:

Please note that you should also submit your 900-word abstract to the IEA 2021 Congress system in order to be considered for the conference, independently of whether you are selected for the IEA student award. For more details: [deadline for submitting abstracts = September 25, 2020].

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Originally posted at

Categories: blog